Tags

, , , ,

Regular readers of my blog will know that I’m passionate about attending translation conferences and networking in general. It’s so important, especially for otherwise quite isolated freelancers, to get out and about, compare notes and meet real people, colleagues and clients, rather than all that virtual interaction via the computer.

That’s why I’m starting to get really excited about the forthcoming flagship event in the UK translation calendar, the ITI conference to be held in Newcastle from 23-25 April with the impressive title of ‘Renew, Rejuvenate, Regenerate – Translating and interpreting in an evolving world’. I was delighted to be asked to write a short bio for the Meet the Delegates slot this week, and I’m very much looking forward to meeting colleagues old and new in just over three months’ time.

If you’re dithering or wondering whether it will be worth the outlay, I can’t recommend it enough. I don’t think I’ve ever attended a professional conference that hasn’t repaid my investment several times over, not only in terms of the contacts you make, tips you pick up and the presentations themselves, but for the general way they reignite your enthusiasm for the profession: just do it!

See you there?!

iti-conf-logo-logo-13

