Tags

, , , , , ,

London Christmas 2015

As ever, this is such a busy time of year – work coming out of my ears, booked up until the end of January, turning clients down left, right and centre…. and that’s to say nothing of the Christmas parties, get-togethers, theatre trips and all the festive preparations too! The ITI German Network had its lovely Christmas lunch back at the end of November at our new Austrian venue, Kipferl, and the ITI London Regional Group’s annual shindig was more recently in the Devereux pub just off the Strand. Even freelancers have no excuse to miss out on the opportunity for an office party…

All the more reason for this to be a very brief post to wish you all well over the Christmas period and thank you reading my ramblings over the course of the year. I’ve really enjoyed interacting with everyone via the blog and have picked up some really useful tips and tricks via comments and discussion forums on Facebook, Twitter, and elsewhere – I hope I’ve managed to pass on some useful snippets too!

I was intending to be away skiing over Christmas, but that hasn’t worked out for one reason or another – probably just as well given the current mild weather across Europe. Instead I’ll be at home, ostensibly taking the week off, but in reality making the most of a week without interruptions to get ahead with my huge workload – over 100,000 words before the end of January. Thank goodness for CAT tools and for Dragon! I have no intention of working on Christmas Day and have lots of festive gatherings lined up over the course of the next week, but I’m hoping that in between times I will be able to make headway without constantly being asked if I can just, please, pretty please, squeeze in another urgent job….

My elder son will be home, but staying with his girlfriend’s family just up the road, and my younger son is currently en route to the States to spend his fist all-American Christmas with his girlfriend’s family. This will be my first Christmas without him – definitely not dwelling on that, and as he’s nearly 24, it’s probably amazing it’s taken this long! As a result, we had our family pre-Christmas dinner and game fest this weekend – military planning required to sit 12 down for dinner in my very small house, but well worth it in the end!

Pre-Christmas dinner

However you’re spending Christmas, and whoever you’re spending it with, I wish you all a lovely festive break; don’t work too hard if you’re beavering away, like me, and I look forward to a fabulous new year all round in 2016!

St Wolfgang lake reflection Christmas e-card 2015

